OUTREACH > MOURNING STAR

WE PROVIDE CHILDREN WITH A SAFE PLACE TO WORK THROUGH GRIEF. Mourning Star is a nationally-acclaimed support center for grieving children, teens and their families.

Compassionate grief support and facilitation take place through peer-based group and individual activities. Parents and/or guardians are also supported in their own group sessions.

The guiding principles of Mourning Star are:

  • Grief is a natural reaction to the loss of a loved one.
  • Each individual has the natural capacity to heal.
  • The duration and intensity of grief is unique for each person.
  • Caring and acceptance assist in the healing process.

Donations allow us to continue our programs.

Our services are offered at no charge to the community, and can be found in the following locations:

Director of Community Outreach and Mourning Star
Pamela Gabbay
(760) 773-6333
Pamela.Gabbay@VNACalifornia.org

The Mourning Star Center – Palm Desert
Melissa Lunardini, Program Coordinator
(760) 836-0360
Melissa.Lunardini@VNACalifornia.org

The Mourning Star Center – Victorville
Kristi Kasel, Program Coordinator
(760) 948-7249
Kristi.Kasel@VNACalifornia.org

The Mourning Star Center – Riverside
Heather Blevins, Program Coordinator
(951) 413-1360
Heather.Blevins@VNACalifornia.org

The Mourning Star Program – Murrieta
Lisa Whitesell, Bereavement Coordinator
(951) 894-5336
Lisa.Whitesell@VNACalifornia.org

The Mourning Star Program – Banning
Jennelle Langrill, Bereavement Coordinator
(951) 845-8439
Jennelle.Langrill@VNACalifornia.org